About Us

Started in 1977 by Ron and Calvin Smythe, Grassroots has long served the Landscape and Irrigation need of southern Alberta and Saskatchewan.

For the better part of four decades, Grassroots completed many notable projects and park spaces in its hometown. Some of those projects include Echodale Regional Park, Connaught Golf Course, and Medicine Hat City Hall. 

When things were slow locally, Grassroots branched off into Golf Course Irrigation, and specifically HDPE installations. There were many years on the road working on projects such as Silvertip and Three Sisters in Canmore, Alberta, Banff Springs, Heritage Pointe, Priddis Greens, The Glencoe Club, and Bootleg Gap, just to name a few!

Fast forward to 2020 when Grassroots underwent a change of ownership. Ron Smythe transferred ownership to Randy Valk, who had been a part of Grassroots for 15 years and was proud to carry the name and business forward. 

Since 2020, Grassroots has continued to provide its clients with the best in construction and customer service. Randy and the Grassroots team look forward to many more years serving Southern Alberta and Saskatchewan. 

Our experience makes the difference

We have trained and Certified HDPE Fusion Technicians and we are also a Certified Irrigation Contractor (CIC), through the Irrigation Association.

Meet Our Team

With decades of collective industry experience, Grassroots has the management team and field crews who are able to handle all aspects of your construction project.

Randy Valk

Owner

randy@justaddwater.ca

Trent Trousdell

Operations Foreman

trent@justaddwater.ca

Danton Valkenburg

Operations Supervisor

danton@justaddwater.ca

Lowell LaSalle

Health & Safety Administrator

lowell@justaddwater.ca

Ruth Mosher

Office Administrator

ruth@justaddwater.ca

Norah Valk

Administrative Assistant

norah@justaddwater.ca